Featured - News - October 1, 2019

MFWA announces 21 finalists for WAMECA 2019

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA), an initiative aimed at promoting media excellence in the West African sub-region, has announced the list of finalists for the third edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA) scheduled for between 17 and 19 October, 2019, in Accra, Ghana.

According to a statement published on MFWA’s website, Advocate Pansy Tlakula, current chairperson of the Information Regulator of South Africa and former chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples Rights (ACHPR) cum ACHPR’s ex-special rapporteur on Freedom of Expression and Access to Information in Africa, as guest of honour.

This year, the West Africa Media Excellence Awards received 724 entries from over 15 countries in West Africa, out of which a 5-member Jury of the Awards reviewed and shortlisted 21 finalists from across six countries. The shortlisted finalists for WAMECA 2019 were Seriba Kone of Lepointsur.com (Cote D’Ivoire); Edward Adeti of Starr FM (Ghana); as well as Bettie K. Johnson-Mbayo of Frontpage Africa (Liberia); and Sama Tounwendsida Hugues Richard of L’Observeteur Paala (Burkina Faso).

Other shortlisted finalists were Cletus Umoh Ukpong of PREMIUM TIMES (Nigeria); Beryl Ernestina Richter of Joy News (Ghana) Mame Diomma Dramé of Ouestaf News (Senegal); Odinaka Kennis Anudu of Business Day (Nigeria); Sawadogo Delwendé Elza Sandrine Clothilde of L’Economiste Du Faso (Burkina Faso); Timothy Ngnenbe of Graphic Online (Ghana); Tobore Ovuorie of The Nation Newspaper (Nigeria).

Also among the finalists for WAMECA 2019 were Seth Kwame Boateng of Joy News (Ghana); Joseph Haro of Sidwaya (Burkina Faso); Kunle Adebajo of ICIR (Nigeria). The remaining finalists are Nabil Ahmed Rufai of GHOne TV (Ghana); Tunde Ajaja of Punch (Nigeria); Tagnan Rodrigue Arnaud of Mutations (Burkina Faso); Emmanuel K. Dogbevi of ICIJ/Cenozo (Ghana); Aneta Chineye Felix, of TV360 (Nigeria); as well as Justice Baidoo of Joy News (Ghana) and Emmanuel Kwasi Debrah of Joy News (Ghana).

MFWA’s statement said the winners for the various categories including the West African Journalist of the Year, will be announced at the Awards event on the 19th of October, 2019 adding that all finalists will receive a Certificate of Merit while ultimate winners would receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes. “All 21 finalists will also be inducted as fellows of the MFWA’s Journalism for Change Network and will be offered regular training opportunities both locally and internationally to enhance their capacity to influence positive change in society through journalism,” adds the statement.

Check Also

UNGA78: Eminent World Leaders Call for a Strengthened UN System 

Ahead of the September 21 United Nations Ministerial Meeting for the Summit of the Future …