Featured - Opportunity - July 13, 2019

OPPORTUNITY | African Charter on Democracy, Elections and Governance (ACDEG) Journalism Awards

A consortium of 14 prominent civil society organisations working to advance the implementation of the African Charter on Democracy, Elections and Governance (ACDEG) is calling for entries from journalists for the Journalism Awards on the Charter.



The Awards is an initiative to recognise and honour journalists in Africa who have been working on critical, analytical and high-quality reports that are advancing the course of the African Charter on Democracy, Elections and Governance (ACDEG) and the African Governance Architecture (AGA) in their countries.

An applicant of the Awards must be a citizen of AU member states and must be working with a media organisation (print, electronic, online) in Anglophone, Francophone or Luscophone AU member state. An entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between January 1, 2017 and August 16, 2019.

The Awards will honour outstanding stories that focus on the following thematic areas:

  • Culture of Democracy and Peace
  • Democratic Institutions, Elections and Transitioning of Governments
  • Transparency, Accountability and Decentralisation of Power
  • Inclusion and participation of the youth in democratic processes

The deadline for the submission of the entries is on August 16, 2019 at 17.00 GMT. Finalists for the Journalism Awards on the ACDEG will be announced on October 1, 2019.

Interested applicants should upload published works via the entry form. The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in Africa and must show date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published. Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two thematic areas. For each thematic area, a maximum of two entries is permitted.

Finalists for the Awards will be hosted at a ceremony by the MFWA in Accra, Ghana on October 19, 2019 during this year’s West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA 2019).

The competitive awards scheme forms part of activities under the Africa We Want project, titled “Mobilising Civil Society Support for Implementation of the African Governance Architecture,” which is being implemented by the consortium with funding support from the European Commission.

The Africa We Want project consortium is made up the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA), ActionAid Denmark, the West Africa Civil Society Organisations’ Forum (WACSOF), ActionAid Ghana, Southern Africa Development Community Council of Non-Governmental Organisations (SADC-CNGO), ActionAid Mozambique, ActionAid Nigeria, Mass Public Opinion Institute (MPOI) in Zimbabwe, ActionAid Zambia, ActionAid Tanzania, East African Civil Society Organisations’ Forum (EACSOF), ActionAid Uganda, ActionAid Sierra Leone and ActionAid Zimbabwe.



For more information, visit www.mfwa.org or email MFWA at ecpanaf[@]gmail.com or call the MFWA on +233 302 -242470.

Submit Entry Here

Check Also

APPLY NOW! Africa Young Innovators for Health Award

Deadline: 31 March, 2021     The International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manu…